California has established a new travel ban affecting travel to four states in the U.S.

The new law known as AB-1887, prohibits state-funded travel to Kansas, Tennessee, Mississippi, and North Carolina. This law stems from these states imposing discriminatory laws toward LGBTQ individuals. The ban aims to promote equality, but is negatively affecting many people such as students.